Kizil Adalar, English Princes Islands, historically Demonesi Insulae, group of nine islands (Adalar) in the Sea of Marmara a few miles southeast of Istanbul; they are part of Turkey. There are permanent inhabitants on the smallest island, Sedef Adasi (ancient Antirobethos), and on the four larger islands, Buyukada (Prinkipo, ancient Pityoussa), Heybeli Ada (Halki, ancient Chalcitis), Burgaz Adasi (Antigoni, ancient Panormos), and Kinali Ada (Proti). Buyukada was Leon Trotsky’s home for a time after his exile from the Soviet Union in 1929. Heybeli Ada has a branch of the Turkish naval academy.
In ancient times the islands were known for the copper mines on Chalcitis; the island’s name was derived from the Greek word chalkos (“copper”). During the Byzantine period numerous convents and monasteries were built; because of their relative isolation and proximity to the capital, these were often used as places of exile for fallen royalty and other notables, who often were blinded before banishment. The islands’ few surviving Byzantine monuments include the Chapel of St. John the Baptist on Burgaz Adasi, said to have been built by the empress Theodora about 842, and the Chapel of the Theotokos on Heybeli Ada, dating from the 14th century. Also, on Heybeli Ada is a Greek Orthodox school of theology, rebuilt in 1844.
In summer the islands serve as popular resorts for the Istanbul region, with hotel and other tourist facilities concentrated on the largest island, Buyukada. Motor vehicles are prohibited: horse-drawn carriages are the chief means of transportation. The scarcity of water has hampered the islands’ development.